Yr Dead | Sam Sax

Yr Dead

by Sam Sax

£9.99

Published August 2024
ISBN: 9781914198861
Format: Paperback

Also available as an eBook:
9781914198854

I can’t make heads or tails of it, the goat on the corner of Union and Metropolitan.

It is 2016 and Ezra has just lit themself on fire outside Trump Tower, New York.

Their life suddenly flashes across time and geography, leaping from memories of childhood to the inherited memory and historical movements of their family: smoking Winstons aged twelve, after Hebrew School; their mother disappearing without a trace; visiting a temple in Tel Aviv; a college reunion filled with ghosts.

Memories culminate to create a work that revels in estrangement, in feeling queer and at home, or queer and out of place; in feeling alive. Visceral, propulsive and at turns fluorescently beautiful and tragic, Yr Dead is a diasporic bildungsroman for fans of Ocean Vuong and Henry Hoke.

‘A singular, titrated, indelible debut.’ Alexander Chee

‘I’ve long been dazzled by Sam Sax’s writing . . . Yr Dead is a kaleidoscopic wonder.’ R. O. Kwon